Self-obsessed rant – updated

jan2016 can fuck right off.

Waking to hear Bowie is dead is like a punch in the stomach. I know I never met him, but he was one of those people who was always there, not just a pop star, an icon. I grew up listening to him and was 16 when Labyrinth came out. A film my daughter finally saw and loved for this Christmas. I know getting older means more childhood heroes go, but I don’t have to like it.

I want to go back to bed, but I won’t.

I keep telling people I am doing better than I am, even my best friend -but fake it til you make it isn’t working at the moment. I have all these lovely people saying if I need to talk they are there for me,  but I can’t put it into words what’s wrong. And a DM isn’t what I need, but I don’t know what is.

17:25

I did go out, to Kelvingrove Museum, it was nice to look round without a bored child tagging along.

But no escape from Bowie, they have organ recitals at lunchtime, and the 2nd piece today was Life on Mars. Which had a few of the bystanders quietly sobbing.

I’ve never been a huge fan – preferred Bolan – but my best friend at school adored him. We fell out about 20 years ago, but I wonder how she is doing today. I thought about her on Friday for the first time in years when his album was released. I could imagine her rushing out to get it.

Will end with an image today, seen on Facebook. We have to be grateful for something.

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

