The Fracking SNP

frack

Is what the latest headlines in the Herald would have you think, however after last weekend and their failure to check all sources prior to publishing a “controversial article” I am less concerned than I might be. It seems to be the case of publish on a Saturday, when the concerned organisation’s press officers cannot be contacted.

I would quickly like to highlight @BerthanPete‘s excellent response here.

But I’m also going to add my tuppence-worth in because otherwise what’s the point of this blog, and I have been muttering it all day and I would like to stop.

I joined the SNP after the referendum. It was a either them or the Greens, and was a close thing as I am aware that the SNP being a broad based organisation has both left & right wing opinions. Whilst being firmly on the left – on some issues quite radical – I believe the general public are conservative (with a very small c) and that change comes easier with baby steps, not big leaps, no matter how hard you push.  I do want change, and for me at least it seemed easier to be on the inside pushing than from the out.

Fracking is a red-line issue for me, plus a great many other SNP members and supporters.  The possible damage that could occur if it took place to our environment cannot be allowed. I do not trust these organisations to take safe precautions, as I am sure it will be the taxpayer that has to clean up the mess.

The threats to Scotland’s economy must be considered, not only does it jeopardise our drinking water, it puts our farming, food and whisky industries at risk.  The Scottish brand (despite a certain company’s opinion) is normally seen as a quality mark.

WE DO NOT NEED IT.

Scotland has an abundance of energy sources, if we can’t make renewables work no one can. I seem to have spent months during and since the referendum, saying “it’s not about the oil.” Fracking to me is even less necessary.

I am sure the SNP leadership are well aware of these views, especially after the Autumn conference. We, unlike England) have moratoriums on both fracking and underground coal gasification in place. Yes, I would like an outright ban, but if that came in it would give the companies an excuse to sue, and possibly get it overturned.

A moratorium can drag out for years and decades, and we have already seen a number of companies state they are abandoning plans. (Still keeping an eye on them, just in case)

I can understand why the Green party are talking about this, we are coming up to an election, and this is exactly the territory they need to push on. They would be political idiots if they didn’t come out with some suitably shocked and stern press release. And unlike our “official” opposition they do have a leg to stand on in this fight, saying that I await some laughable graphic to appear from Scottish Labour any minute now.

 

Leave a Reply

