2016 Reading Challenge

image

Last year, my reading was severely reduced.

I’m not sure if it was because I didn’t undertake my annual Discworld marathon – these are old friends which I usually turn to for comfort, something they couldn’t offer this time.

Whatever the reason, it’s not a habit I wish to continue so I decided to undertake the Goodreads reading challenge after finding this on Facebook.  So as well as planning to read 48 books, I want to mark off these 12 categories. No pressure.

I’m cheating slightly because the first thing I am going to tick off is “a book you previously abandoned,” and whilst I haven’t completely abandoned these, they have been left longer than normal.

thorns

Since June (?) of last year I have been struggling with the fantasy series The Broken Empire Trilogy by Mark Lawrence. It is made up of Prince of Thorns, King of Thorns and Emperor of Thorns, and is the story of Jorg Ancrath, an anti-hero if ever there was one.

Memories are dangerous things. You turn them over and over, until you know every touch and corner, but still you’ll find an edge to cut you.

Jorg Ancrath, Prince of Thorns

I should love these books, they are well written, interesting characters, good dialogue and a complex story, dealing with a boy/man who has suffered traumas and then inflicts them on others. But for some reason I have not clicked with them. I am in the habit of taking a book everywhere I go, and have taken these books miles over the past 6 months, it would have been so much easier on my back to have finished them!

But with a sigh of relief I have completed Emperor today. I partly feel this dissonance was due to me being in the wrong mood to read them and then too stubborn to give up. I still intend to read more by Mark Lawrence, and one day to re-read these.

Book cover images by Jason Chan

 

 

Leave a Reply

