Marching for Indy

Untitled

Tomorrow, I will be grabbing some of my badges and my flag and heading to George Square by the way of the Botanical Gardens for . If the weather holds it will be a fantastic day, and you know what even if it pisses down it will still be a fantastic day.

Do you now why? Because there will be a lot of friends out to have a good time. I cannot tell you how excited I am over this.

There are a group of people who dislike Indy Marches and I don’t mean the unionists. I have attended rallies and marched at anti-war, anti-austerity, anti-Trident, Refuges Welcome, etc. but the ones that seems to get looked down on are the pro-Indy. For some reason they are seen as a waste of time.

It appears to me as being another aspect of the “we must do IndyRef2 my way” articles that are sprouting again. Yes, we do have to look at where things went wrong last time and make the next more inclusive but some writers must take into consideration that the prolier-than-thou approach also puts people off.  *Looks at that last sentence and hopes there’s no unintended irony*

The marches in Catalonia are seen as a good thing, vast crowds united showing their aim of self-determination.  I look forward to when we get crowds of that size although, as WeeGingerDug has pointed out on many occasions, we could do with a bigger pro-Indy media to help promote them.

Going on the march tomorrow will not stop me manning stalls, canvassing or talking to No voters – I will be the first to admit that generally the problem is stopping me talking about politics.

Tomorrow may attract people to come and see what the fuss is about, they are friendly events and the enthusiasm is very engaging.  To me this is not a sign that we think the fight is already won – I think even the most confident Yesser post-EURef will still have doubts.

It’s more like it’s a gathering of friends and maybe that’s why I look forward to them so much. Since coming to Scotland I’ve found many friends via Twitter. Some I get to see in real life regularly, some less often and some not at all – YET.

I am incredibly bad at meeting people – butterflies, nausea, the lot – apart from at these events. How can I be nervous meeting people I have spent weeks and months chatting, laughing and arguing with. (Okay, a little bit nervous but not as much as I would normally be.)

These rallies give an excuse for people to travel and meet up. We get to swap ideas and bounce opinions off one another without being limited to 140 characters. Thanks to Independence Live those who cannot make it – the downside of a low density population – can still watch it and will hopefully feel included to some degree.

Rallies may not help swing many over to Yes – they may be a bit of an echo-chamber –  but they help revitalise those who take part, knowing that there are others that feel the same way helps boost the batteries.

The campaign hasn’t officially started yet, we don’t know when it will or more importantly when the finishing line will be. We still have a long journey ahead of us, even if it now seems shorter than we expected it to be. The media seem to be already gearing up for it, yesterday being a case in point over the NP court judgement.

Unlike the EURef, every Yes campaigner will be expected again to have an encyclopedic knowledge of all the issues, there is a lot of hard work ahead of us so occasionally doing something fun is not a bad thing.

If you want to say hello, I’ll be lurking round the Bonny Badge stall (if I’m not stalking the Wee Ginger Dug – such a fangirl)

 

 

Leave a Reply

