Flags, marches & democracy

cath

Not quite sure exactly where this is going, so bear with me. It’s a bit rambling today.

We had the usual suspects complaining about the flag waving on Saturday, it’s nationalistic, it’s embarrassing, it doesn’t do any good, you should listen to me and do things my way (which often talks about the need to be inclusive – ironic huh?)

So nationalism is embarrassing, something we in Scotland should not be take part in…

To be honest when I googled variations on flag waving crowds, it’s the Union Jack I saw the most.

You know what, I also sang Flower of Scotland along with the others in the English Scot group. I’ll tell you why, it’s a brilliant song. My English mother taught it to my Scottish/Australian uncle because she loves it so much. It’s a much better song to bellow out than GSTQ (dirge), or Rule Britannia (haha – delusional) or that bloody Jerusalem (I cannot express how much I loathe that song but I’m blaming it on primary school)

I’m intend to keep going to rallies it’s something I enjoy, but it’s not compulsory, no one is forcing anyone to attend. If you don’t like it, don’t go, just stop being so sour-faced and pious over it.

Of course we weren’t the only ones holding rallies on Saturday. There were three others that I am aware of:

The Scottish Defense League were in Leith countered by a number of local groups, which is covered beautifully by A Thousand Flowers.

This bit is my favourite:

As for National Action, their main guy spent most of the demo mouthing off about the lack of respect for their democratic rights. When it was pointed out to him that he is a fascist who doesn’t believe in democracy, he could only agree.

Amazing how these hate-mongers believe they have a right to speak, but forget that people also have the right to counter protest.

Then there were another three (3) members protesting against our rally on Saturday (very quietly and in a corner so no one noticed them) It was a nice day eventually, but I’m sure that isn’t the reason they were wearing sunglasses.

SDL

Strange, I’ve never felt the need to hide my identity when protesting. I want the world to know when I’m pissed off.

And last but not le… oh.

Well, there was also a Scotland In Union protest against referendums, somewhere. (Stirling?)

There are some unionist bloggers who state they wouldn’t be allowed to campaign to re-join the union in an independent Scotland.  Really? To be honest if I rolled my eyes any more at those type of statements they would fall out of my head.

These are people who support the party that wants us out of the European Convention on Human Rights. Whereas the Scottish Government has firmly stated it doesn’t. The Convention is written into our legislation, so I’m fairly certain that both Article 10: Freedom of expression and Article 11: Freedom of assembly and association will both be upheld in an independent Scotland. I wish I was so certain of that in a future UK.

This is a democracy and the unionists are well within their rights to rally and march in defence of the union. Which is why Pauline is allowed to stand waving a placard and those morons in the SDL can spout their bile.

It’s just there doesn’t seem to be many that choose to do so. “What do we want?” ” More of this.” It doesn’t really inspire does it.

The main thing I noticed, even during the rain showers, was that people taking part were in general happy and positive. I never see that with the right-wing, they always look so angry.

But then I hope that’s because they know, in Scotland at least, that time is running out for them.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Flags, marches & democracy

  1. Bill Wallace

    I saw some people mumph about this being of no use, no one ever changed their vote based on seeing a flag in a crowd

    Here’s the thing, THERE IS NO ACTUAL CAMPAIGN

    The Scottish Government is trying to find solutions to the Brexit debacle within the UK and has not yet said that that has run its course and that IndyRef 2 is on

    If you want people to engage with others, go out and talk to people and engage hearts and minds then you need the activists to be there,to “get the band back together again”

    If IndyRef 2 happens then yes, maybe fewer rallies and street parties and more leafletting, talking to people out and about, but for now, remind the world you are there and Saturday did that fine

    Like

  2. There will have been some wee wifey in the city centre on Saturday who voted No, worried about these vile cybernats she’s read about, watching that march and the gathering in the square and thinking, ‘there’s a lot of them and they seem quite normal’.
    That’s the benefit. Apart from the camaraderie and opportunity to meet up its about presenting the Yes movement as a very normal, good natured and optimistic thing. It demonstrates that we are not a extremist fringe but ordinary people who care deeply for the future of their country. It can be an antidote to MSM bias if it’s done right.
    On a personal note, I loved the tourists mingling with the crowd looking bemused but quite excited by it all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

