Feedback

funky_feedback_by_charcoaledsoul

The piece I did for Bella this week has had a few comments (so it’s nice to know people did read it) with a range of responses; some positive, some not. It’s been an interesting experience reading them, as it’s not the same as getting feedback here from people who know me. (I’ve never blocked a comment on here by the way.)

A couple of those commenting appear to have got the impression I think Russian media is somehow more trustworthy than we have here. I can assure you that is not the case. My point was that with them the audience is aware of their bias and can take that into account.

I had also hoped to point out there is a great deal of hypocrisy in our media and that they should look at their own houses before muck-slinging at others. There are many countries in the world that have media much worse than ours, but I don’t believe that “it could be worse” is acceptable.  It is possible to be concerned about more than one issue at a time, I want press freedom for all but I also demand a truthful press. What is the point of a fourth estate if we cannot believe it.

This week we have seen another circus because someone has not posting an article for a few weeks. He is still in post and the NUJ doe not appear to be concerned. A dramatic difference to when the Herald laid off journalists due to advertiser pressure. There appears to be no evidence for the allegation but the some of the press and certain politicians have run with it.

At a time when the possibility  of a Scottish Six is being discussed the supposed influence of the Scottish Government  over the media could be a concern. I say could because there seems to be a multitude of people shouting that they will not be silenced in this one party state.

I’ll say one thing, the SNP make terrible dictators, “SNP accused” got 450,000 results on Google. I’m pretty sure that in a one party state that wouldn’t be allowed.

Untitled

The level of click-bait produced continues to increase as the relationship between public and journalists sours and sales tumble. People will eventually stop rising to the bait. Newspapers are mainly funded by advertising revenue not sales so if people stop looking online the whole system collapses.

I don’t want journalists to lose their jobs. I don’t want a press that only lauds the SNP. I do want them held to account but there is a big difference between that and a constant stream of petty suppositions and whining padded out as if they are major crises.

You can only cry wolf so many times before people stop listening.

 

Image: Funky Feedback, charcoaledsoul DeviantArt

Leave a Reply

