Selfish

images

I was accused the other day of being a good person; I’m not, I’m selfish. I don’t like seeing other in pain, it disturbs me, worries me, hurts me.

I want the people I love, my friends, those I care about, to live without fear of cold or hunger. This is 2016, I shouldn’t have to worry about it but I do.

The Scottish Government want to enshrine the right to food. This should not be necessary. It is part of Article 25 of the UN’s Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

(1) Everyone has the right to a standard of living adequate for the health and well-being of himself and of his family, including food, clothing, housing and medical care and necessary social services, and the right to security in the event of unemployment, sickness, disability, widowhood, old age or other lack of livelihood in circumstances beyond his control.
(2) Motherhood and childhood are entitled to special care and assistance. All children, whether born in or out of wedlock, shall enjoy the same social protection.

But then it’s not like this government haven’t been reprimanded for it’s treatment of the disabled.

I want to be able to go into town and not see people begging or worse sleeping on cardboard in shop doorways. I want to know that those living in the 6th most wealthy country in the world are not reliant on charity.

I want to live in a country that doesn’t see support for the military as wearing a poppy but rather considers carefully where it sends its young people to war. If it has to do so, I want it to equip those men and women to the highest standard and then look after them when their service is ended, rather than waste billions on pointless WMDs. I don’t want to have to give to Help for Heroes or Erskine when a responsible government should provide these services.

I don’t want to know my country is the world’s second largest arms exporter who works on the drug dealer principle that if we don’t sell it someone else will. I am horrified at seeing children dying across the globe and knowing it’s due to British made weapons or regimes supported by the British government.

I sure as hell don’t want to give to Children in Need on the day it’s announced that the taxpayer will fund the repairs of Buckingham Palace, especially in the same week that the benefit cap is reduced. Families facing tighter budgets in the onset of winter.

We are fighting the symptoms not the cause. I’m sick of smug supposed men of the people grinning in gold lifts while they line their pockets. I’m sick of the poor and vulnerable being blamed for economic crises when greedy amoral people screwed the system.

I’m sick of being angry.

2 thoughts on “Selfish

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your comments, I too am sick of the way the rich get richer at the expense of the poor, disabled and old. The British government will not change because they are the ones reaping the benefits at our expense, so hell mend em! I know that the Scottish government are not perfect and they don’t always get things right but when the time comes again (soon I hope) and we have another referendum on independence for Scotland, I for one, will work tirelessly to cut ties with the monsters of Westminster and for a morally and socially inclusive Scotland, maybe then I won’t feel so angry.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Being disturbed, worried and hurt by others’ pain is how change for the better is possible. If only that were the selfishness that prevailed. I too am sick of what passes for acceptable; how many people hurt in a world of plenty. It’s not how life should be, it’s not why we’re here. Far from being a utopian ideal, it should be the norm that everyone eats, everyone feels safe. We’re so far removed from that position – and growing further away from it – that the worry, despair and hurt seems endless.
    I’m now desperate for independence as I see a strong sharing of those feelings that will insist on change and a more just community.
    If wanting and working for a fairer society is selfish then it’s a good sort of selfishness.
    We shall prevail. The pendulum has swung so far one way that it must swing back. Let’s push on that pendulum with all our might. Channel that anger. I feel it too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

