Back in Black

nintchdbpict000204301819

You’ll have to bear with me I’m going to be self-indulgent tonight but I will keep it brief. I’ve just watched and wept and laughed my way through Terry Pratchett: Back in Black. Paul Kaye did an excellent job.

This will be a short post, because once I started writing I realised I had already gone over a lot of my feelings last year. It still hurts. He was more than just a favourite author.

I’ve been reading him so long I no longer know whether I liked him because he matched my sense of humour or whether he created my world view. Where some people can quote the classics I have a STP line for most occasions. And trust me he wrote at least one line for most occasions.

It was gratifying to find out that Neil Gaimen also thinks Night Watch – my favourite – is his best book. The Guards series with Sam Vimes just got better with each addition.

I wonder what he would think of the world today; I can’t imagine the man who wrote Jingo and Snuff being very impressed.

So as the Creator said: “Don’t bugger it up”

One thought on “Back in Black

Leave a Reply

