On repeat

This is one of those “blog it to stop it going round my head all day.”

July in ScotPol Twitter is an aggravating place to be (can’t wait for August *she laughed hysterically*). I’ve tended to describe the Yes campaign as a family and it feuds in only the way a family can.

Yet again we’re getting the infighting that seems to be a trademark of anything on the left of the political spectrum. To say I am experiencing deja vu over who is arguing with who is an understatement, it’s the same damn thing every bloody summer.

(Although the Tories lining up for another bout is quite entertaining)

While everyone is waiting for something to happen with the independence campaign, there are numerous opinions being put forward on what is the right way to proceed. This is great, these things need working out.

I think we need lots of voices giving their opinions, I’d even like to see a right-wing case for independence put forward.  Yes, I’d prefer a left-wing, land-reformed, nuclear free Scotland but what happens after independence is up to all of us.

I don’t know which is the right way for the campaign to go, to be honest I don’t think there is one single right way. I believe that different people will come over for different reasons – Phantom Power’s brilliant Journey to Yes film series shows examples of that.

Whatever an iScotland will be it will still contain all of us with all our flaws. We will not instantly become better people (whatever that entails) nor I hope will we kick out those who don’t fit a certain viewpoint.

I try to follow different opinions, but the one thing that is likely to switch me off is being lectured on who not to read.  If I followed everyone’s advice I’d listen to no one. It is my choice and I can be stubborn when I want to be.

My Timeline is who I want to see (I may not always agree with them) and  I block or mute those I don’t. I may comment that I’ve blocked someone but I don’t assume or expect others to do the same. I was under the impression that my followers are grown ups who can make their own choices (although the fact they follow me may undermine my own argument.)

People block me  (🤨 I know! I’m fricking adorable) and that’s fine. I don’t expect everyone to agree with me. I don’t walk up to strangers in the street and expect them to want to hear my opinions, why should Twitter be any different? Same goes for this blog, I don’t expect anyone to read it or follow me.

Facebook friends – tough. You know what you signed up for when you friended me.

And now I have that off my chest, I’m going to look at cute kitten pictures.

pexels-photo-416160

Picture from Pexels

One thought on “On repeat

Leave a Reply

