Catalonia

1e4334387eed587580e6b3987699c19eb01398ddcfd69684cc0b4b3baecc084bI never realised how emotional I would feel over their referendum.

Like so many others, I have been watching this build up for tomorrow’s vote, seen the arguments and tried to weigh up their and Spain’s actions against a future Scottish independence campaign.

I knew I supported their right to have a vote – democracy should never be rationed – and that my preference (being a vile nationalist) would be for their independence but this last week it’s gone from logic to emotional. Now I need them to win, the anticipation is like a stomach ache.

A country half the size of Scotland with a similar population, no wonder they can get the crowds out.  The positivity and joy of those that want to take control of their nation is infectious. We may have had smaller crowds but I remember the atmosphere in George Square in the run up to our vote.

We were musical but not as organised as this:

I think it was after watching that I started to get “the feels.”

Self-determination should involve head and heart.

And finally the reason I’m back to blogging. the talented Phantom Power has done another film interviewing Liz Castro – who’s tweets I have been following avidly for a few weeks now.

It’s well worth 30 minutes of your time.

One thought on “Catalonia

  1. Pingback: Mewsing Out Loud

Leave a Reply

